Adventures

“I am going on an adventure.”

We all know the words that started one of the greatest adventures of all time. And those same words continue to begin adventures, great and small.

My current expedition takes me into the Great Smoky Mountains–a place I loved passionately as a teenager. Even though I have since fallen in love with the beauty and majesty of the ocean, there is always a place for the Smokies–or anywhere, for I truly love adventures and travel.

I will be attending the Blue Ridge Mountains Writing Conference–and I am beyond excited! I am nervous and scared. But also so incredibly happy, expecting great things, that I cannot keep this smile off my face.

The conference does not begin until Sunday, but I decided to take a few extra days to spend enjoying the amazing countryside around. My days during the conference are absolutely packed–so I want to take advantage before and after of the opportunity to see as much as I can. My mom agreed to come with me–a relaxing vacation for her, and a travel buddy for me.

Anyone who knows me, knows I hate to travel alone. I want to experience as much as I can, but without someone to share those experiences, it is almost worthless to me. So, I am quite grateful that I do not have to experience this trip on my own.

Another source of excitement for me is the opportunity to meet my writing mentor–the woman who has coached me through my writing classes for over a year now. She was one of the founders of this particular conference. She is also the woman who has provided me my first publishing opportunity. That’s right, this fall, I will be a published author. It’s only a short in a collaborative work–my contribution is so small, in fact, that I won’t be paid for it–all proceeds from the sale of this book will go to charity. And when read in light of many of the other submissions, my work screams out amateur…but I don’t mind. With hard work and determination, my work will continue to improve. For now, this is a very small step with long reaching results. And I am quite happy and excited about it.

3 thoughts on “Adventures

  1. KiKi says:

    Congratulations on getting publish!

    Also, I love your introduction:

    ‘“I am going on an adventure.”

    We all know the words that started one of the greatest adventures of all time. And those same words continue to begin adventures, great and small.’

    So true, very inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

